Rebecka Vigus
2 min readOct 27, 2020
Writing

Whether You Write Long-hand or Type into a Computer You are Writing

The most important thing you can do as a writer is to write. Seems rather obvious. I find most writers start writing, then the look for someone to read what they have written.

This is a HUGE mistake. The person reading it is most likely going to point out your mistakes which will make you go to your writing and start editing like a madman. You were not looking for an editor which is what you got.

When you do this, make it abundantly clear, you want their opinion of your story. Does it make sense? Do they understand it? Does is sound natural or is it choppy? These are what the writer wants, not necessarily what they get.

I am working with a writing client, when I figured out I made the mistake of editing. If I do this, the story will never be finished. It has been carefully plotted out to make a three book series. The writer has a good grasp of what her content will be. I need to file my red pen away and let her write. Let her ask me questions she may have as she develops her characters and story line.

If you are writing a book, novella, short story, ebook, just write it. Be in writing mode. Don’t share it. You will then end up in editor mode. This is the reason most books never get finished.

It’s sad for me to know 98% of people want to write a book. That’s awesome!! Go for it!!! Unfortunately only 2% actually write a book to completion. Some who do never publish it, even for themselves.

My belief is everyone has a story to tell. Might be a memoir, might be a survivor’s book, might be any kind of self-help book, could be a novel, any or all of these could be best sellers. Are you writing your book???

Happy writing,

Rebecka

Rebecka Vigus

I am an author, and coach who helps writers enhance their skills to create influence, impact and income.